Rip VanWinkle and Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving TX860


 

Rip VanWinkle and Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving TX860

Rip VanWinkle and Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving TX860

Rip VanWinkle and Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving; editor Sandra Sanders, TX860, 1972 Scholastic paperback reprint, 4th printing, 79 pages. 

DESCRIPTION: “Since 1820, when they first appeared in The Sketch Book, ‘Rip VanWinkle’ and ‘Legend of Sleepy Hollow’ have been continuing favorites.
These two famous ghost stories by Washington Irving preserve the vanished customs and life of the Hudson Highlands, a region that he has made immortal.
In this edition, the stories have been lightly edited by Miss Sanders to enhance their readability. A biographical note on Washington Irving is included.” (from the back cover)

About vintagescholastics

I love these old Scholastics! I am a bookseller, writer, and dog-lover; live at the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains of New York with my computer-programmer husband. We love motor-cycle riding, renovating our old camp on Lake Desolation, gardening, and researching our genealogy. The purpose of this blog is to highlight those beloved old books from the Scholastic Book fairs from 1950 - 1979. This will serve as a catalogue of the books, with their identifying numbers, a plot summary, and a photo of the cover; with a searchable index. I want to give all of the writers and illustrator's bios so they get credit (many were writers in the summer while on vacation from their regular schoolteaching jobs.; some are lesser known efforts by very famous people; and some are reprinted classics.) Hopefully, their fans will be able to identify favorite titles with snipets of remembered information. We will always be adding new ones, and welcome your submissions
This entry was posted in TX Series. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rip VanWinkle and Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving TX860

  1. Alicia says:

    I have this very book. I cannot seem to find out what it’s worth monetarily. Sentimentally to me, I love it, but I’d like to sell.

    • I recently sold one of these for a dollar and 50 cents. The old Scholastics are not generally worth a lot monetarily unless you have a first printing of a particular title, in pristine condition. I have seen that bulk lots of the books in excellent condition are a good chance to sell; at least on eBay. I had a bookstore until July on ebay; it was called vintagescholastics and I had to close it because of low sales and high fees. Best of luck to you with this.

      • Alicia Kay says:

        Wow, thanks for the advice. It’s really depressing to me, I’m a bibliophile, and I’ve collected books my entire life. Well, I’m now 23 and my collection is getting large and I’m hard up for cash, however, I’m alas finding out that a lot of the books I thought would be worth money, are not. I only have a couple books worth 500 dollars. I was hoping to hit it big with my copy of The Sinking of the Titanic and other Great Disasters from 1912, but due to the poor condition it’s in, it’s severely devalued. Do you know if it’s possible to restore old books? If so, how much does it run? Since you owned a book store, and I know very little about it all, I’d love it if you could help me out by giving me advice. The internet is surprisingly not a very good source for teaching me things about my own books. I want to make sure I don’t have some crazy book in my collection worth thousands of dollars, mean while someone tells me it’s worth 50 cents and I get ripped off, lol.

      • I was devastated when I had to close my little bookstore after 10 years; I love old books and recycling them. It is tricky redoing old books. If your book needs to be rebound, there are places that do that; but I don’t know how much they charge. I learned how to fix some paperbacks with ELMER’s glue and a homemade book press; but we are talking about a book worth only a few dollars; if I messed it up, it wasn’t a big loss. If you have a book you are unsure of, take it to a used bookseller; someone who deals with antiquarian books. They are generally a bit quirky, but could give you an idea of what they would do with such a book, and may well know of a bookbinder you could use, if it is cost effective to do it. I can tell you how I used to get an idea of what my books were worth. There is a clearing house for used books called Addall.com; they have a search engine that ties into about 40 large bookselling venues like Biblio and Amazon. If you enter your book name and a few details, you can get an idea of the range of selling prices according to condition. I always look on eBay too. The other place I used to go to research books was at the library. They have all the value guides in their nonfiction section and there are some good books there that tell what books collectors are looking for.

      • Alicia Kay says:

        It is a first printing, does that help? I’m guessing maybe not.

      • The title you described is really a common one. I doubt that you would get a quick sale of it and not for much more than the original price. I had the vintage scholastics because they were done so well and I really loved them. I just gave a big box of them to my nephews for Christmas rather than bulk list them.

Leave a Reply

